Lanetta J. Sprott

Marketing Blitz

Posted on: June 16, 2009

A couple of weeks ago a friend asked how I marketed my self-published books: Where Forever Begins and Finding Closure. It got me to thinking how lax I had become in that area. Now, finally… I’m back again and doing something about getting my name and the name of my novels out there – at least in cyberspace.

It’s not that I’ve aspired, or ever imagined, becoming a well-known author such as Sandra Brown, Nora Roberts, or Candace Havens. I don’t expect to ever sit on Ellen’s stage or be interviewed by Oprah. I write because I believe in the stories I share.

It doesn’t matter in the whole scheme of things, but it took me four years to write Where Forever Begins, A Simple Love Story. Between living life, learning the “do’s and don’ts” of writing fiction, the historical research, and the professional editing process, the story finally came forth into print.

Finding Closure didn’t take as long to write, maybe a year. I began the story while WFB was in the editing process. A stolen moment of writing here and there, then participating in “Fast Draft” – developed and coordinated by Candace Havens – took it over the finish line.

Hundreds of thousands of articles on marketing are out in cyberspace… so much to read, so little time! I will come back here and post links to my favorites!

Upcoming post: why I use Lulu for all my work.

2 Responses to "Marketing Blitz"

Sounds good. I’m based in the UK and am considering self-publishing my two thriller novels using POD, but I’m concerned about the difference shipping costs make to the overall price. Do you have any suggestions?

Thanks for your comment. And, thanks for reminding me to write why I use http://lulu.com/lanetta for all my work! I will get busy and explain later today!

To address your concerns re: difference shipping costs & overall price… as you know, when readers purchase your book online, they will pay a shipping cost. Just as when someone buys from Amazon, or any other online purchase, they will incur a shipping/handling fee.

When computing the sell price of my books online, I only consider Lulu’s fee and what I’d like to see in royalties (which is not much, as it is not my priority – I want my books to be read, not make me wealthy!). But, to sell directly (when I buy my own books and sell locally) then I need to consider the shipping costs and recoup the expense. Therefore, the printed price on the back of my books will include this cost.

I hope my suggestion how to handle the shipping costs is helpful!

Leave a Reply

Native Texan living in the Hill Country writing and experiencing life one day at a time.

Novels by Lanetta J. Sprott:

Where Forever Begins Finding Closure

Where Forever Begins, A Simple Love Story and Finding Closure are available online at Lulu and Amazon.

~

Read a preview of both novels here.

Documents

New goal (to finish book): 95,000

Free Twitter buttons from languageisavirus.com
Updates
    1000words_200w

    Topics