Lanetta J. Sprott

Getting inside your character’s head

Posted on: June 26, 2009

Alternate title: “Letting your character inside your head”.

When I write a story, I totally get in the head of my characters. I touch, smell, hear, see, and taste what they experience. At times, I lose myself and become my character!

I have written of death and dying and, through my characters, I have experienced drawing the final breath. In Finding Closure, I wrote a murder scene. It was not a premeditated act. The “fight or flight” syndrome kicked in for my character so I was able to write the scene without too much difficulty.

A pivotal character in Ella is a killer. How do I effectively and totally get inside this character’s head? How do I plot and plan and write this character’s five senses when kidnapping and committing murder? How do I let this type of character inside my head?

I know authors do so effectively.

Even with chills crawling up my spine, I can only hope to do so as well. Any suggestions anyone can offer about how to work this uneasiness out of my system will be greatly appreciated!

1 Response to "Getting inside your character’s head"

I’ve spent the past two weeks concentrating on the killer’s POV. Surprisingly, this character is much easier to develop and grow than I originally thought!

Yes!

I love it when a plan comes together!

Leave a Reply

Native Texan living in the Hill Country writing and experiencing life one day at a time.

Novels by Lanetta J. Sprott:

Where Forever Begins Finding Closure

Where Forever Begins, A Simple Love Story and Finding Closure are available online at Lulu and Amazon.

~

Read a preview of both novels here.

Documents

New goal (to finish book): 95,000

Free Twitter buttons from languageisavirus.com
Updates

    Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

    1000words_200w

    Topics